Newbie questions: trying to understand Verilog conversion behavior

Hi everyone,

I just posted this to the mailman list, then realized I should have come here instead. Should this Discourse link be added to the myhdl.org Support->Community page?

I’m new to MyHDL, using it with a Digilent “Arty” board and Vivado to learn FPGAs and HDL in general. So far, I’ve found the documentation to be excellent and I haven’t had any problems with simple LED flashing, PWM, etc. Along the way I’ve accumulated some questions however:

1. I would like to parameterize certain hardware modules like I see in the examples, e.g. I have the following “Timepulse” module:

def Timepulse(reset, clk, q, interval=int(100e6)):
    """ Generate a pulse for one clock cycle every clock cycles

q       timepulse output, with period equal to one clock
     """
     count = Signal(intbv(0, min=0, max=interval))

Here “interval” is intended to be taken as a constant, for the purposes of simulation and conversion. However, the Python code

if count == interval - 1:
    count.next = 0
else:
    count.next = count + 1

if count == interval - 1:
    q.next = 1
elif count == 0:
    q.next = 0

is converted to the following Verilog:

if (($signed({1'b0, count}) == (100000000 - 1))) begin
    count <= 0;
end
else begin
    count <= (count + 1);
end
case (count)
    (-'h1): begin
        q <= 1;
    end
    'h0: begin
        q <= 0;
    end
endcase

I don’t understand where all the signed-arithmetic handling comes from. Intuitively, I thought the Verilog should be the same whether my expression uses “interval-1” or “interval”, because both are large positive constants within the range of the count intbv. But in fact when I take away the -1, the signed-number handling goes away too. What am I doing wrong?

1. When converting to Verilog, do the input/output port names always follow the names in the definition of the top-level Python function? E.g. in the StopWatch tutorial, we have