VHDL conversion - missing constant

I’m finding my way around MyHDL. I’m well-versed in VHDL and experienced with Python, but as another post mentioned recently, there’s an open-source toolchain for Lattice FPGAs but it only supports Verilog, so I’m looking at using MyHDL for my authoritative code base and then converting to Verilog for synthesis, and VHDL for sanity-checking and maybe extra debugging. The ability to write Python unit tests with MyHDL is the major drawcard for me.

I’ve read through most (but not all) of the MyHDL docs in the main documentation area, and I feel like I understand most of what is going on, but I’m still learning the ropes. In particular, the code below successfully generates VHDL, but there’s no definition of the signal pattern generated, so I don’t think this will synthesise.

from myhdl import block, always, always_comb, Signal, intbv, modbv

PATTERN_SOS = intbv("101010001110111011100010101")

@block
def Blink(clk, clk_en, led):
    pattern = PATTERN_SOS
    counter = Signal(modbv(0, min=0, max=32))

@always(clk.posedge)
    def counter_inc():
        if clk_en == 1:
            counter.next = counter + 1

@always_comb
    def output():
        led.next = pattern[counter]

return counter_inc, output

if __name__ == "__main__":
    inst = Blink(Signal(bool(0)), Signal(bool(0)), Signal(bool(0)))
    inst.convert(hdl="VHDL")

This generates:

-- File: Blink.vhd
-- Generated by MyHDL 0.10
-- Date: Sun Jul 29 17:59:49 2018

library IEEE;
use IEEE.std_logic_1164.all;
use IEEE.numeric_std.all;
use std.textio.all;

use work.pck_myhdl_010.all;

entity Blink is
    port (
        clk: in std_logic;
        clk_en: in std_logic;
        led: out std_logic
    );
end entity Blink;

architecture MyHDL of Blink is

signal counter: unsigned(4 downto 0);

begin

BLINK_COUNTER_INC: process (clk) is
begin
    if rising_edge(clk) then
        if (clk_en = '1') then
            counter <= (counter + 1);
        end if;
    end if;