Initial values, memories, and Yosys

Hi all,

First off, thanks for creating and sustaining MyHDL! It is a fantastic tool, and I have thoroughly enjoyed using it.

I have a question, and I suspect that as I am new to MyHDL and FPGA development, the error may lie in my use of the tools as opposed to a bug. The issue is the following:

1. I believe it is often the case that we want to pre-initialize BRAMs with some predetermined values. This is generally done with the initial syntax in Verilog, and via toVerilog.initial_values = True support in MyHDL.
  2. When I enable initial value support on MyHDL, it wants to initialize the output of the data register for the BRAM.
  3. Yosys then decides that since the output of the RAM has an initial value that it is incompatible with the BRAM model, and pushes the entire memory out of BRAMs.

Here is a sample test case:

@block
def case_for_test(clock, reset, values):
    addr = Signal(intbv(0)[4:])
    data = Signal(intbv(0)[8:])
    ram = [Signal(intbv(x)[8:]) for x in range(16)]
    cnt = Signal(modbv(0, min=0, max=16))
    we = Signal(bool(0))

@always(clock.posedge)
    def rom():
        if we:
            ram[addr].next = 0
        else:
            data.next = ram[addr]

@always_seq(clock.posedge, reset=reset)
    def cycle():
        cnt.next = cnt + 1
        addr.next = cnt
        values.next = data

return instances()

I had to add the unused we line to convince MyHDL that the memory was driven (so that initial values made it to the output). Here is the generated Verilog

// File: ../gen/case_for_test.v
// Generated by MyHDL 0.11
// Date: Mon Oct 14 11:43:58 2019

`timescale 1ns/10ps

module case_for_test (
    clock,
    reset,
    values
);

input clock;
input reset;
output [7:0] values;
reg [7:0] values;

reg [3:0] addr = 0;
reg [3:0] cnt = 0;
reg [7:0] data = 0;
wire we;
reg [7:0] ram [0:16-1];
initial begin
    ram[0] <= 0;
    ram[1] <= 1;
    ram[2] <= 2;
    ram[3] <= 3;
    ram[4] <= 4;
    ram[5] <= 5;